+374 91 415536 , +374 96 415536



Khndzoresk village is located in the southern part of Armenia, 8 km from Goris town. The village is divided in two parts – New Khndzoresk and Old Khndzoresk.

Old Khndzoresk, which is famous for ancient caves, where people used to live, is located on the slopes of mountainous valley. There is a 160 meter long soft bridge constructed recently through the gorge of Khndzoresk, from where the magnificent view is opened to the gorge and surroundings.

There are two theories from where the name of the village has taken its origin. The first theory is that the village takes its name from “apples” (“Khndzor” in Armenian), because very delicious apples frow here. The other theory is that the name takes its origin from words “deep canyon” (“Khor dzor” in Armenian). This may be the case because the old Khndzoresk is located on 3 km long mountainous area divided by canyons. The village was located about 10-12 metres long cliffs, people where either leaving in caves or the roof of one person was the yard of the other: the houses were built one upon the other.

Due to its impregnable position, Khndzoresk has been a center for fight for independence. The leader of the revolution against Persia and Ottoman Turks in 18th century, Mkhitar Sparapet is buried here. The village had 4 churches – Hripsime, Tadeos, Anapati and Old. The village was one of the biggest ones, in 1913 Old Khndzoresk had 7 schools. The village had 1800 houses. During USSR the Khndzoresk people stopped leaving in caves and moved to the new Khndzoresk. Now the Old Khndzoresk is one of the most important monuments.